## 30. Small arms

During the period under review, the Security Council held two meetings in connection with small arms and adopted one resolution. Resolution 2220 (2015) focused on strengthening international cooperation in preventing, combating and eradicating the illicit transfer, destabilizing accumulation and misuse of small arms and light weapons in all its aspects, particularly through the effective implementation of Council-mandated arms embargoes and through information-sharing mechanisms, with the assistance of peacekeeping missions and other relevant United Nations entities.

## **Meetings: Small Arms**

Meeting and Date	Sub-item	Other documents	Rule 37 invitations	Rule 39 and other invitations	Speakers	Decision and vote (for-against- abstaining)
S/PV.7442 13 May 2015	The human cost of the illicit transfer, destabilizing accumulation and misuse of small arms and light weapons  Report of the Secretary-General on small arms and light weapons (S/2015/289)  Letter dated 1 May 2015 from the Permanent Representative of Lithuania to the United Nations addressed to the Secretary-General (S/2015/306)		44 Member States <sup>a</sup>	United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights, President of the Côte d'Ivoire chapter of the West African Action Network on Small Arms, Permanent Observer of the African Union to the United Nations, Head of the Delegation of the European Union to the United Nations	Secretary-General, all Council members and all invitees	
<u>S/PV.7447</u> 22 May 2015	Report of the Secretary-General on small arms and light weapons (S/2015/289)	Draft resolution submitted by 57 States <sup>b</sup> ( <u>S/2015/333</u> )	50 Member States <sup>c</sup>		13 Council Members <sup>d</sup>	S/RES/2220 (2015) 9-0-6 <sup>e</sup>

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>a</sup> Algeria, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Australia, Belgium, Benin, Botswana, Brazil, Colombia, Croatia, Dominican Republic, Egypt, Finland, Germany, Guatemala, India, Indonesia, Iraq, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Mexico, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Netherlands, Pakistan, Paraguay, Republic of Korea, Republic of Moldova, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey and Ukraine.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>b</sup> Albania, Australia, Austria, Barbados, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Costa Rica, Côte d'Ivoire, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, , Greece, Guyana, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Montenegro, Morocco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Palau, Paraguay, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Republic of Moldova, Romania, Samoa, Serbia, Seychelles, Slovakia, Slovenia, Somalia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Trinidad and Tobago, Ukraine, United Kingdom and United States.

c Albania, Australia, Austria, Barbados, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Costa Rica, Côte d'Ivoire, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Guyana, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malta, Montenegro, Morocco, Netherlands, Norway, Palau, Paraguay, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Republic of Moldova, Romania, Samoa, Serbia, Seychelles, Slovakia, Slovenia, Somalia, Sweden, Switzerland, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Trinidad and Tobago and Ukraine.

## Repertoire of the Practice of the Security Council $19^{th}$ Supplement (2014 - 2015)

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>d</sup> Angola, Chad, Chile, China, France, Lithuania, Malaysia, New Zealand, Russian Federation, Spain, United Kingdom, United States and Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>e</sup> For: Chile, France, Jordan, Lithuania, Malaysia, New Zealand, Spain, United Kingdom, United States; abstaining: Angola, Chad, China, Nigeria, Russian Federation, Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of).